1779 Bonded Warehouse Stourbridge
The Stourbridge Town Arm canal spurs from Wordsley Junction off the Stourbridge Canal link to the Staffs & Worcs canal route. It terminates almost in the centre of Stourbridge at a wharf upon which the Bonded Warehouse was built in 1779. The building was originally a simple two-storey brick structure approximately 23 feet wide and 70 feet long, with the interesting feature of a semi-circular east end.
The apsidal east end shows the form of the original eighteenth century building which was raised another storey and extended some 12 feet on the canal wharf side in 1849. The building was carried over the wharf on an open arcade of iron columns, but this space was later enclosed by brickwork in about 1900.
The basic structure of the warehouse is very robust and has suffered few dilapidations even after years of neglect. Heavy brick walls 14 and 18 inch thickness are pierced by arched windows with small panes, shutters and bars.
Location Address and Instruction
The Bonded Warehouse