Leith Hill Place
In 1847 Leith Hill Place was bought by Josiah Wedgwood III. Having retired from the family pottery business in Staffordshire, he brought his wife and three young daughters to live in the Surrey Hills. Josiah was married to Caroline Darwin, and her brother Charles, the famous naturalist, often used to visit. Charles Darwin in fact, involved his three nieces, Sophy, Margaret and Lucy, in his earthworm experiments in and around Leith Hill Place. In the parkland below the house you can still see his 'wormstone' which sits next to one of the orange trail markers.
There has been a house on the site of Leith Hill Place since the 16th-century, perhaps even earlier. In 1725 it was bought by Colonel John Folliott, who decided to modernise the house dramatically and “reskinned” the 16th-century house in Palladian style which was fashionable at the time. In 1754 it was sold to Richard Hull, a Bristol merchant, who built Leith Hill Tower, which still dominates the hill today. When he died in 1772 the house was owned by various people, including a Reverend Rusden who ran it as a school, before it became the home of Josiah Wedgwood III in 1847.